Failing to understand taxable acct strat

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Avolition

Failing to understand taxable acct strat

Postby Avolition » Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:29 pm

Sorry, I'm new at trying to understand this, and its a lot all at once.

Trying to start moving money into a taxable account. Still not sure what best to put in it. Been picking through other threads and I see a lot of talk of funds like TSM. I do roughly get why an index fund is a better choice than say a managed stock fund or bonds. Would people (around here) normally end up with just one fund in their taxable account? (I know choosing is mostly a function of AA and how much room you have to fit everything else into your tax-advantaged accounts.) Our 401k is much larger than the taxable will be to start, so we can easily rebalance the AA via that account if I could just figure out how to begin with the taxable account.

slayed

Re: Failing to understand taxable acct strat

Postby slayed » Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:33 pm

Avolition wrote: Would people (around here) normally end up with just one fund in their taxable account?

That's what I do. 100% VTSAX in taxable.

livesoft

Postby livesoft » Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:56 pm

I just want to own tax-efficient funds in taxable. One should learn the characteristics of tax efficient funds, then will not look at fund names, but their characteristics.

Some characteristics:

1. Low distributions, as low as possible.
2. If there are distributions, then no capital gains distributions if possible.
3. If there are dividends, then as low as possible, but also the highest percentage of qualified dividends such as 100% and the lowest percentage of non-qualified dividends such as 0%.
4. If a bond fund, then tax-exempt dividends if the taxpayer is in a high enough tax bracket.