Keep Financial Advisor or move to 3 Fund Portfolio?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
cmoneymillz

Keep Financial Advisor or move to 3 Fund Portfolio?

Postby cmoneymillz » Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:20 am

Hi All!
Quick bio:
-26 yrs old
-Make $160k/year
-6% 401k match (maxing it out since 2013 - $105k currently in there)

I've been using a family trusted financial advisor for the past 3 years (since starting work full time), until I decided I would do some research / due diligence myself. Came across this forum and 3 fund portfolio - seems easy enough!

Looking at my 3 year record using a FA, I've given him $75k and currently have $80k in my account, for roughly 6% return.
While I'm happy to have made some money, I wonder if I'd be better off switching to a 3 fund portfolio instead, especially after seeing the expenses in the primary funds I hold (pocax, kdhax, gcasx). I know a lot of family/friends who are well off and swear by this guy, but I can't help but be a little skeptical, wondering if I'd be better off on my own :greedy

livesoft

Re: Keep Financial Advisor or move to 3 Fund Portfolio?

Postby livesoft » Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:56 am

You would be better off on our own. And there is only one way to find out for sure.
This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.

nedsaid

Postby nedsaid » Thu Mar 02, 2017 9:08 am

Going out on your own with a 3 fund portfolio will be cheaper than what you are doing now. A three fund portfolio is simple and easy to maintain. Also at 26 years old, your life is probably not all that complicated.

POCAX is Pacific Funds Portfolio Optimization Moderate A which has a 1.41% expense ratio and a 5.5% front end load. It is a 60% stock/40% bond balanced fund. Morningstar rates it as a 3 star. Not horrible but it is an expensive fund.