Help for a newbie

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Colleen

Help for a newbie

Postby Colleen » Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:19 pm

Hello Everyone,
My name is Colleen. I'm 41 (soon to be 42) and am new to this business of investing.

My husband and I have two accounts at Schwab. The account he manages has the following ETF investments:

SCHF (International Fund)
SCHZ (Aggregate Bond Fund)
SCHX (U.S. Large Cap Fund)
SCHA (U.S. Small Cap Fund)

The second account, recently opened, is not invested in anything. I also have a Roth IRA that is currently worth around $71,000. I have no investment experience, but one day I may need to manage not just these accounts, but the rest of the family's accounts as well (E*Trade, MerillEdge and Schwab, plus the 529 accounts. I want to get my feet wet and learn to manage the second Schwab account and my Roth IRA. My husband suggested that I ask for input from the people here, so here I am! Assume that (i) I have $10,000 to invest at the start and $500 a month thereafter (at Schwab), and $5,500 a year for my Roth IRA; (ii) I won't need the money for the foreseeable future and (iii) I don't know for how long the monthly additions will be made (or the yearly contributions to the IRA) but hope to do so for the next 12 years.

I am starting this whole process pretty late in life and realize it is on a small scale. Now that I realize how close retirement is, I want to be as prepared as possible and make as much money as possible in the next 20 years. I don't mind risk as long as I will be able to see the payoff when it is needed.Can you help?

David Jay

Re: Help for a newbie

Postby David Jay » Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:11 pm