SEP-IRA Question, need small business owners help

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
countrymouse

SEP-IRA Question, need small business owners help

Postby countrymouse » Wed Jan 11, 2017 2:52 pm

I am a business owner with an S-Corp. My SEP is confusing me. It all starts with an Edward Jones SEP Account. We went down that path for about 2+ years, and then became Bogelheads. Decided to move everything to Vanguard. The EJ rep did not know much about SEP accounts. I think they were/are incorrect. I am attempting to fix it now.

My husband and I are both W-2 employees of the business. There are other employees but they do not qualify for the SEP yet (<3 yrs service).

EJ created a SEP Employer Account under my husband. There was a contribution Year 1 & Year 2 into that account under my husbands name ($35,000). I believe the contribution went to the Employer/Employee (this is where confusion comes in, see below). No contributions yet for 2016 as we made the decision to go with Vanguard. We put $15K in under me, and then immediately decided to move to Vanguard, and it's cash moving over.

So I opened up a SEP-IRA Vanguard account myself. Didn't know this at the time, but it was an EMPLOYER account. I have contributed $50,000 to my Employer account, $0 to either employee for 2016. So now my accounts are all wonky.

Time period trying to even out: Tax years 2014, 2015, 2016
Employer Account: $50,000
Employee Account 1: $33,000 (when my husband rolled his to Vanguard I believe it's rolling as a SEP-IRA Employee Account)
Employee Account 2: $15,000

(My goal is to get this amount evened out across Employer/Employee/Employee accounts with my 2016 contribution(s)).

Few questions: