Recent Graduate investing with different goals

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
robertmcd

Recent Graduate investing with different goals

Post by robertmcd » Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:49 pm

Vanguard Roth: 11k in TSM
Vanguard taxable: 11k TISM, 7k mid cap growth index (don't want this but I have 4K in gains), 4k TSM
Cash: 112k earning 1%
Income: 60k no 401k, I expect my income to rise somewhat significantly over the next few years. I am a petroleum engineering graduate and was lucky to get a job period. I amassed a lot of cash working 3 summer internships for the same company (who is now bankrupt) where I was paid quite a bit more than I am making now (bummer).

I am currently sitting on a lot of cash. I want to get a set plan so I don't have to think about new contributions into my vanguard account, just invest whatever money is over my EF into my AA. My issue is that I may want to buy a house in the next few years. I don't think investing in bonds is a good idea for me at this point, watching my money lose value in bonds when I have decent CD options will upset me (although I know the role of bonds in a portfolio). A local CU has a 5 yr 2.1% CD with only a 3 mo EWP. This seems like it would have a much higher risk/return than TBM or intermediate term investment grade. I am planning on investing my estimated down payment into this (80-100k) to come close to keeping up with inflation for the next 5 yrs or so, and I can always withdraw and invest into TBM if yields continue to rise and TBM doesn't do well. This would allow me to take all my risk on the equity side and not worry/make bad behavioral decisions. Is this a good plan for both short and long term goals?

Re: Recent Graduate investing with different goals

Post by 123 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:02 pm