Vanguard VTSAX Admiral Funds

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Baseball964

Vanguard VTSAX Admiral Funds

Post by Baseball964 » Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:46 pm

I'm pretty new to investing, so this might seem like an obvious question. I'm interested in investing in the vanguard VTSAX fund, and the listed minimum investment is $10,000. I have just over that amount but 10 grand is about the max of what I can invest. If I were to invest exactly the 10 grand and have it dip down a tiny amount below the 10,000 after a short bit, if be below the minimum investment. Would the be any fees at this point? Or is the 10 grand just a minimum requirement to get your foot in the door?

Thanks! Sorry if there is an obvious answer. I'm very new and don't want to lose money due to lack of knowledge.

jhfenton

Re: Vanguard VTSAX Admiral Funds

Post by jhfenton » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:44 am

If your balance dips below $10,000 solely because of market fluctuations, you can keep the Admiral Shares. You will not be downgraded to Investor Shares. Just don't sell any shares to take you below $10,000 (or sell any while you're below $10,000).

rkhusky

Post by rkhusky » Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:13 am

jhfenton wrote:If your balance dips below $10,000 solely because of market fluctuations, you can keep the Admiral Shares. You will not be downgraded to Investor Shares. Just don't sell any shares to take you below $10,000 (or sell any while you're below $10,000).

Is this stated Vanguard policy or just something people have observed?