tax 401K vs paying down mortgage

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
fiddlefaddle

tax 401K vs paying down mortgage

Post by fiddlefaddle »

Hello Bogleheads,

This is my first time posting. But I've enjoyed the Bogleheads' Guide to Investing book and this forum and wiki. My Q is where should we be putting our contributions after we've maxed out roth IRA's and pre-tax 401K's? We still have 20K per year of capital we could allocate to investments. Should we consider:

1) After tax 401K? With this my question is can I only roll over the 20K each year into a Roth IRA (my employer allows in-service distributions). Or must I roll over my entire 401K, including the pre-tax?
2) pay down mortgage 3.375% 450K principal
3) contribute to 529?
4) contribute to after-tax unsheltered locations

Thanks!
LAlearning

Re: tax 401K vs paying down mortgage

Post by LAlearning »

You only roll over the after tax. If it's for retirement, that's my vote. Otherwise taxable vs mortgage debate.
I know nothing!
DVMResident

Post by DVMResident »

+1 for the vote for a backdoor ROTH via 401(k) after tax assuming an adequate emergency fund is in place.

Taxable investing is a second option if you need more liquidity.
Watty

Post by Watty »

There is a wiki on thing choice.

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Paying_ ... _investing

One option would be to invest it for the short term then decide in a year or two what to do with the money. If you saved up $45K then decided to pay down the mortgage you could then ask the lender if they would "recast your mortgage" (Google this). They are not required to do this but they often will for a small processing fee but so that if you pay the mortgage down by 10% then your mortgage payment would also go down by 10%.
ralph124cf

Post by ralph124cf »