Physician in need of help

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
bob35

Physician in need of help

Post by bob35 »

Greetings Bogleheads! I am a physician practicing in Southern California and in need of some financial advice. I finished residency about two years ago and was fortunate enough to pay off my student loan debt. I am now focusing on investing and setting up my retirement accounts, and would appreciate any advice on how to manage these well. Please forgive my ignorance as I am new to this. Here is my current situation:

Marital status: Single but engaged to a nursing student whom I claim as a dependent
Salary: 400-500k but should be increasing after partnership in ~9 months
Student loans: Almost fully paid off except for 28k with an interest rate of 1.875%
Employment status: Individual contractor working through my single-employee corporation
Debt: none except for my remaining student loan
Cash savings: close to 300k but still owe taxes for 2016
Retirement accounts: Vanguard Roth IRA: $5,500
Vanguard SEP-IRA: $30k

I want to start my backdoor Roth IRA contributions so I will need to rollover my Vanguard SEP-IRA into a Fidelity solo 401k and close the Vanguard account. Then I plan on maxing out my solo 401k contributions at 53k every year through my corporation.

My specific questions are:

1. At my current income bracket, is it worth doing a backdoor Roth?
2. I was also looking into opening a Vanguard solo 401k as well but there is no brokerage option for buying EFTs or Admiral shares. Do you think I should just stick with my solo 401k with Fidelity and invest in their low cost Spartan index funds?
3. Do you recommend I invest most of my retirement account in a target date fund or should I also put some in the S&P 500 index fund and/or mid to small cap stocks?

I know these are basic questions but I would be grateful for any feedback you can provide.

Thanks in advance!
sawhorse