Think larva stage when I say "newbie" [buy an annuity?]

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
waia

Think larva stage when I say "newbie" [buy an annuity?]

Post by waia »

Hi.

I am completely new to the investing world, and I'm up a creek without a paddle, a boat, my floaties, and I'm pretty sure something just touched my foot!
:|

This forum kept popping up in response to my research so I decided I'd cut out the middle man and come straight to the source. First off, I apologize for any misused words, unclear explanations, or outright wrong information, but as my subject line states, I have no clue.
Help?
I sincerely tried playing the market with the help of a financial advisor. I have discovered that, after almost 2 years of barely making .02% return total on my initial investment in all that time, I am not a market playing kinda person.
The same advisor came back and pitched a great sounding annuity plan through Prudential after I said it was time for me to make some changes. The idea of being stuck, so to speak, with an annuity for the next 20 years (to avoid any penalties and/or taxes) is a little nerve racking, but hey, long haul and all that, right? Then, the bad news came. After all the pitch and selling me on this plan (one that he admitted upfront to not pitching often, so he needed to get more details), he finds out I'm too young for that it. I'm only 45, and Prudential doesn't offer their annuity option until age 50.
The advisor went back to the drawing board and has now found two different plans--both through AXA Equitable, which is how I ended up here, reading your boards and asking for your help.