Mid-Twenties Migrating 401k and Roth IRA to Index Funds (+Misc Qs)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
hex

Mid-Twenties Migrating 401k and Roth IRA to Index Funds (+Misc Qs)

Post by hex »

Greetings!

I'm new to the Bogleheads. After hearing Tony Robbins talk about compounding fees on a Tim Ferris podcast, I read the book Money, Master the Game and got fired up to learn about this stuff :annoyed and optimize my portfolio while I'm still young. That led me to Little Book of Common Sense Investing, A Random Walk Down Wall Street, and several other podcasts.

I've started trying to implement some of this on my own, but run into several questions. Any insights would be greatly appreciated! :D

Emergency funds: Done (but will be looking to move this into a Money Market fund at some point)
Debt: None
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: ~ 28% Federal, 10% State
State of Residence: CA
Desired Asset allocation: 90% stocks / 10% bonds?
Desired International allocation: 15% of stocks?

Current retirement assets
Portfolio Size: Low five-figures. Just starting out.

His 401k at Fidelity
No company match.
Both Traditional and Roth 401k options are offered. I took a stab at contributing 3:1 (Roth:Traditional) for benefits of tax-free growth plus tax-diversification in retirement.

Started partially moving into the Index options. Previously I was selecting active mutual funds in the Small/Mid/Large/International cap categories:
18% Fidelity 500 Index Fund - Premium Class (FUSVX) (.05%)
13% Invesco Diversified Dividend Fund R5 Class (DDFIX) (.54%)
10% Oppenheimer International Small-Mid Company Fund Class Y (OSMYX) (1.18%)
9% T. Rowe Price New Horizons Fund (PRNHX) (.79%)
9% Fidelity® Extended Market Index Fund - Premium Class (FSEVX) (.07%)

Funds available in his 401(k)