TSP to Vanguard?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
tompillion

TSP to Vanguard?

Post by tompillion » Fri May 13, 2016 3:04 pm

I retired two years ago from civil service, and have been debating moving my TSP to Vanguard, since I can no longer contribute to the TSP. I am comfortable with medium risk, and for the past 5-10 years I have had the following asset allocation for my existing funds, based on the recommendation of a local advisor at my credit union.
C - 34%
F - 38%
S - 24%
I - 4%

I do not need income at this time, but will be subject to the RMD's in about a year. I have talked to Vanguard and have had preliminary discussions with a PAS advisor. I told him I am comfortable with having a 60/40 or 50/50 split, and he offered to set up a portfolio and guide me because I am a novice at investing. My question is, recognizing that I will be paying more in fees with VG than TSP, will a designed Vanguard portfolio using Admiralty shares and PAS benefit me more than just keeping my TSP where it is with the existing asset allocation?

Thx.

retiredjg

Re: TSP to Vanguard?

Post by retiredjg » Fri May 13, 2016 5:28 pm

There are many separate questions in your post.

Is there a good reason to move from the TSP to Vanguard? I don't see one. Do you?

If you move from the TSP to Vanguard, do you need to use the Advisor Service? I don't see why you would. You've been managing just fine for the last 5 or 10 years, why can't you do the same now but do it at Vanguard?

And even if you don't want to manage it yourself, you could just put the money into a LifeStrategy Fund and let Vanguard manage it but not pay the .3% advisor fee. Investing at Vanguard does not require you to participate in their advising program.