Northwestern Mutual Bad option?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
N10sive

Northwestern Mutual Bad option?

Post by N10sive » Thu May 05, 2016 6:27 pm

Hello,

I am pretty new to financial planning and was recently referred by a friend to use Northwestern Mutual as my financial planner. They have been super nice and responsive. I have since opened a 500k insurance policy 420k of it term and 80k of it whole life. I have also started a disability plan along with opening a Roth.

My company doesn't do any matching and my current 401k is with principal which NWM said they charge high fees every quarter( i do see the charges). I have done some reading and it seems NWM is not though of as the greatest company to go with. Is this true?

As for people saying I pry don't need disability since my company offers it, it is not too much for the policy and I do a lot of the more "extreme" sport activities which could always leave me unfit to do my job.

Thanks for the help,

N10sive

Elbowman

Re: Northwestern Mutual Bad option?

Post by Elbowman » Thu May 05, 2016 7:18 pm

Yes, for investing it is a bad option. Whole life is a bad option from anyone. Stop working with the NWM financial planner (for investing at least), they already have and will presumably continue to steer you towards bad investments that make them the most money.

The fees from a 401k have to be really bad to outweigh the tax benefits. If you post the details here you can get an unbiased (and frankly more knowledgeable) opinion. Its best if you fill out this template: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6212 . It may be a hassle to get some of the 401k information (expense ratios are key!) but it will be worth it.

OakPhilliesFan

Post by OakPhilliesFan » Thu May 05, 2016 7:35 pm

Agreed that you don't need whole life. Not sure what you're paying for term life, but you can check term4sale to compare prices.