Need Investing Help - $200k

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Chris T

Need Investing Help - $200k

Post by Chris T »

I'm a 40 year old freelancer in the film business. My gross annual income averages $150,000 (though since I'm self-employed, work can be sometimes volatile and inconsistent). My wife and I own a house (purchased for $800,000, 5 years ago. Now estimated worth over $1.3M). We have $590,000 left on the mortgage = 30yr fixed at 4.0%

I have $220,000 in cash savings and $34,000 in 401k. My wife has $19,000 in her 401k. She works for me (i.e. also self-employed).

Currently my cash is in an online savings account(!!), and is gaining a terrible 0.6% interest or thereabouts. Obviously I need to invest it more aggressively.

I was advised by my accountant that if I'm going to invest on the stock market, that I should consider paying off a chunk (say $50k) of our mortgage at the same time (as a way of 'diversifying' our investing by reducing our mortgage burden).

If I were to do that, and also keep about $50,000 in savings (rainy day), that leaves me with $120,000 to invest in the stock market.

I'm considering Robo-investors (Wealthfront, Betterment, Vanguard etc) vs a human financial manager. Can you advise on the pros/cons of robo-investors vs humans, and also the mortgage payoff etc. Also, I prefer having a wealth management firm help me since a) I'm very new to investing, and b) have no time to spend researching / learning about best invetments etc. Would rather pay a little to have an expert (human or robot) do this for me.

Thanks!
canbonbon

Re: Need Investing Help - $200k

Post by canbonbon »

You should read some of the wiki posts and also read about the 3 fund portfolio on this board.

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Main_Page