Edward Jones or Vanguard?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
develop

Edward Jones or Vanguard?

Post by develop »

Hi Bogleheads,

I would like to thank the Boglehead community for the incredible amount of wisdom you all share so generously. The insights I have gotten and all that I have learned from this forum have completely shaped my investment philosophy, and will no doubt save me a tremendous amount of money over my lifetime. Thank you to all of the sages who have made rational, sensible, low cost investing so much easier to understand for the rest of us.

I would like to try to pay it forward, but would do so with caution, as I am no expert.

My mother-in-law has her retirement account with Edward Jones. She is a very sweet and trusting woman, and she has little to no confidence in her ability to manage her investments. She likes that with Edward Jones, she can sit across the table with someone who will tell her that everything is under control, and that they will do everything for her.

I know that with Vanguard you can’t sit with someone in person, but I would very much like to get some insight about Vanguard’s 0.3% advisory service, and whether or not it can do pretty much everything else for her that Edward Jones does. Is this service right for anyone who needs complete portfolio management, or might some find the service to be lacking? I don’t want her to leave Edward Jones, only for her to wind up feeling alone and overwhelmed.

Comments for and against the move are more than welcome.

Thank you!
JW-Retired

Re: Edward Jones or Vanguard?

Post by JW-Retired »