Is this a good idea? [private equity offering "Czech III Senior Loan Trust"]

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
john_bon_jovi

Is this a good idea? [private equity offering "Czech III Senior Loan Trust"]

Post by john_bon_jovi » Thu Jan 14, 2016 1:05 pm

Hello all,

I'm a newbie on this site and I was told that the following question from my dad (recently retired) would be appreciated here:

[My broker] has suggested I invest some on Czech Asset Management, L.P., Czech III Senior Loan Trust. They "invest substantially all of its assets in SJC Onshore Direct Lending Fund III, a direct lending credit fund focused on originating floating rate, senior secured loans primarily to U.S. middle market borrowers." Have you heard of these people, could it be a good idea?

So bogleheads, is this a good idea? Also, any thoughts on the motivation for [the broker] to recommend this investment to my father?

Kind regards,
JBV

Alex Frakt
Founder

Re: Is this a good idea? [private equity offering "Czech III Senior Loan Trust"]

Post by Alex Frakt » Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:40 pm

I am returning this post following moderator review (and after removing the broker name and editing the title). Please take this at face value.

Alex Frakt
Founder

Re: Is this a good idea? [private equity offering "Czech III Senior Loan Trust"]

Post by Alex Frakt » Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:48 pm

The SEC Form D Notice of Exempt Offering of Securities for this is here: http://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/ ... ry_doc.xml . Not that it is going to tell you anything about the intended or actual investments.

john_bon_jovi,

This is a private equity offering. They do not have to disclose anything about their investment philosophy, intended holdings, fees or anything else. All we can tell is who offers it and that those selling it will receive a commission. Because of this, the only advice we can give is to stay far, far away.

David Jay