Is maxing out my 401k a bad idea?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
cjcerny

Is maxing out my 401k a bad idea?

Post by cjcerny »

I've been contributing $18k yearly to my 401k plan for a few years now. It recently dawned on me that my marginal tax rate might be higher (currently 25%) when I have to withdraw that money because of a large potential inheritance and because of receiving Social Security. If I have $300 or $400k in a 401k at 59 1/2 and receive a $1 million inheritance around that time along with about $2000k/month of Social Security at age 70, will I likely break into a higher marginal bracket? If so, would I be better off not maxing out the 401k at this point in my life? The inheritance is never a sure thing, but about as sure as one gets for being 15 years into the future.
lack_ey

Re: Is maxing out my 401k a bad idea?

Post by lack_ey »

Don't forget that with a 401k you get a tax deferral until decades later with tax-free compounding all the way. It's not just about current and future tax rates.

Maybe future tax brackets are higher, but at the current levels it doesn't seem like you'd be anywhere near the 28% bracket in retirement. If you're in the 25% now, forget about it.

Also, if you're in a position in retirement where you're worried about taxes, you're probably doing okay and it doesn't really matter. That's not to say you shouldn't plan on what is likely or might happen on the upside, but I'd worry more about the more unfavorable possible outcomes because the marginal utility of money tends to diminish the more you have.
jpelder

Post by jpelder »

It's probably better than a taxable account. Tax-advantaged accounts are pretty much always better than taxable, since you only get taxed once on the money, instead of paying income and capital gains taxes on it.