To Roth or not?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
thealchemist

To Roth or not?

Post by thealchemist »

Hi,

I am currently a graduate student and relatively new to investments. I have managed to save up some money and have invested in few stocks and mutual fund and the ubiquitous online savings account.

I am trying to weigh as to if its time to have an IRA account or not? I am 25 years old, single and will be moving to the bay area this year end ... don't know if this helps to answer this question. I am currently in the 15% tax bracket.

Of course, after being exposed to this forum (found it recently), I am thinking strongly about investing in index funds and such. Any advise will be helpful. If more information is needed, please let me know.

Thanks in advance.

The Alchemist
mizz401k

Post by mizz401k »

As long as you have earned income, it's probably to your advantage to fund a Roth IRA - $4,000/yr. Since you are at such a low tax bracket, you really don't have a significant incentive to get a tax break today with a deductible IRA. There's a very good chance you will be at a higher bracket later in life. Many years of tax free growth should work to your advantage (assuming you have many years until you retire).

There are lots of experts on this forum who can expand on this recommendation and provide you additional guidance.
PatrickS

Post by PatrickS »

If you don't have any access to a 401k plan with some kind of company match, than a Roth IRA makes perfect sense.

Keep in mind that you have to have the income for the year to contribute to it. If you earned only $500 in the year, you can contribute up to $500 for the year to a Roth IRA. You can't add any more from existing savings.
Pangloss

Roth

Post by Pangloss »