$13 Million Goal for Early Retirement (am I crazy?)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
MaxSave

$13 Million Goal for Early Retirement (am I crazy?)

Post by MaxSave »

General

Emergency funds: Three to six months of expenses - Savings account earning ~1% interest

Debt: None, House paid off (no mortgage)

Tax Filing Status: Married Filing Jointly

Tax Rate: 25% Federal, 5% State

State of Residence: Ohio

Annual Living Expenses = ~30K

I am an engineer. Wife recently stopped working outside the home in order to take care of children. She may or may not return to full or part time work in the near or distant future.

I was fortunate enough to discover this forum at a young age, so I developed good investment/spending/etc habits early on. I embrace the fact that time is on my side and usually do not check my investments more than once a year, aside from insuring that transactions have processed correctly.

Current retirement assets

Taxable:
Total Stock Market (VTSAX) - $11K
Total International (VTIAX) - $11K

His 401k:
Target Date Fund (55% US Equities, 30% International, 15% Real Estate) (0.12%) - $225K

His Roth IRA at Vanguard:
Vanguard 500 (VFIAX) - $10K
Total Stock Market (VTSAX) - $40K
Target Date 2050 (VFIFX) - $10K
Target Date 2055 (VFFVX) - $15K
Target Date 2060 (VTTSX) - $20K

Her Roth IRA at Vanguard:
Windsor II (VWNAX) - $90K

Her 403b at Vanguard:
Vanguard 500 (VFINX) - $150K

Her 401a at Fidelity:
Fidelity Freedom K 2055 Fund (FDENX) (0.64%) - $60K

Her 457 (deferred compensation):
Target Date Fund (50% US Equities, 30% International, 20% Real Estate/Other) (0.21%) - $80K

HSA with HSA Bank (paying for current expenses out of pocket and saving receipts) - $10K

Also currently accruing a pension from my employer

Total of All Accounts Together = $730K

529 Accounts Total = $10K

Contributions

New annual Contributions