Newbie seeking investment advice

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
catsonix

Newbie seeking investment advice

Post by catsonix »

Hi all, I am an investing newbie and would appreciate some advice! I came here after reading The White Coat Investor book (his blog posts usually go over my head), and I'm currently reading The Bogleheads' Guide to Investing.

I am in the final few years of an MD/PhD program. On the positive side, I have no tuition fees, zero debt, own a modest home (all paid off; worth $110-120K), earn an annual stipend of ~$25K (plus about $1-$1.5K I earn through other means), and live frugally/below my means (I'm an avid couponer!); on the negative side, I've done practically no investing.

My money management plan for the last five years or so has been very simplistic - my monthly stipend gets deposited into my money market account (worth a little over $50K now with 0.8% interest), and I keep about $1K at a time in a checking account for daily purchases, bill payments, etc. I have a few credit cards that are paid off in full every month. Last year I opened a Vanguard Roth IRA and maxed out my annual contribution ($5.5K).

Emergency funds: lumped into the $50K money market; no special account for them
Debt: Zero
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: 15% Federal, 5% State
State of Residence: Midwest
Desired Asset allocation: 75% stocks / 25% bonds
Desired International allocation: don't know

Current retirement assets:

Taxable
near 100% cash

Roth IRA at Vanguard
~$5700 in a Vanguard Target Retirement 2030 fund - 75% stocks, 25% bonds (picked for the stock/bond mix - I figure I'll be retiring more around 2040-2050)
- also I plan to contribute another $5500 to this account for 2015, and for every year thereafter. I presume that my annual income as a physician, and thus my taxes, will exceed my current values, so that's why I've gone with a Roth over a traditional IRA.