Help me understand preferred stock we own...

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
jbrinker

Help me understand preferred stock we own...

Post by jbrinker »

As part of a private REIT redemption, we received part cash, and part shares of the newly minted preferred stock ARCPP.

We have 5699 shares of this stock "AMERICAN RLTY CAP 6.7PFD" ARCPP, in a trust with a total value of about $2M.

I'm trying to understand exactly what sort of animal this preferred stock is. Recall I'm pretty new to this, and trying to tackle the big moving parts first. This was a small part of the overall portfolio, and as of last fall when I started taking the reins in earnest, American Real Capital had some bad news and the stock tanked anyway. So we held on, and its now trading above 24.

From what I can gather, this is a Primary Preferred - "Preferred (6 7/10 % Cum Red Pfd Shs Series -F-)". It pays a dividend each quarter, and again from what I gather these types of shares have some bond-like characteristics.

This site seems to have the most info of any I have found:
https://www.preferredstockchannel.com/symbol/arcpp/

Questions:

Can anyone explain to me how this sort of instrument works - it seems very much like a bond in many ways, and like a stock in others.
Since I already have this in the portfolio, would it be prudent to keep it? The 6.7%/year dividend is not too shabby.
What is the "liquidation preference price" of $25 mean?
I see that it's callable in January 2019. What does that exactly mean to me?
Anything in particular about this asset strike anyone as "get out now while the getting is good" or "hold on, and reap that dividend"?