should I add Gold Fund to my portfolio?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
gixxer

should I add Gold Fund to my portfolio?

Post by gixxer »

I'm new to investing. Just opened a couple index funds last month with Vanguard. I'm 38 years old. MY allocation is 38% S&P 500, 16% International Stock, 32% Bonds, and 15% REIT's. Wondering if i should add Gold/Mining Fund that Vanguard has, to further diversify?
galeno

Re: should I add Gold Fund to my portfolio?

Post by galeno »

No. Unless you want to speculate.
KISS & STC.
Amishman

Post by Amishman »

No. xx
Topic Author
gixxer

Post by gixxer »

pennstater2005

Post by pennstater2005 »

I agree with the others. Initially, at least, keep it simple and see how you like managing those four funds. You've got your bases covered.

Read here and on the wiki and then maybe you might tinker a little bit. Personally, I'm in a lifestrategy fund and like the auto re balancing feature.

Good luck.
“If you think nobody cares if you're alive, try missing a couple of car payments.” – Earl Wilson
lumberingc

Post by lumberingc »

I think that gold is riskier than people would like to imagine because...

1) secondary gold selling is on the rise [see cash-for-gold and other similar businesses]
2) advances in fusion technology could eventually lead to the production of heavy metals such as gold at a cost lower than its current value which would drop the price
3) The use of gold in electronics may decrease as alternatives become available.
dc81584

Post by dc81584 »

Nope. Keep it simple. I'm a firm believer that diversifying within stocks and bonds is sufficient.
Topic Author
gixxer

Post by gixxer »

Thanks all! ..Much appreciated. I'm new to all this and am grateful that I stumbled on this Forum for help.
abuss368
Location: Where the water is warm, the drinks are cold, and I don't know the names of the players!

Post by abuss368 »