Dazed, Confused and Upset

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
imdone42

Dazed, Confused and Upset

Post by imdone42 » Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:16 pm

I am just learning about all of the fees that I have been paying at Edward Jones. They do a fantastic job of hiding all of their charges. I have a bunch of Type A funds that have a %5.75 front end load and several expense ratios in the 1% to 1.5% range. I have been talking with Vanguard regarding moving all of my assets over to them into index funds. I have not had the time to put together my portfolio information into the form shown in the sticky yet so it could be reviewed by the forum members. With that being said hopefully its not to ignorant to ask a question about moving funds.

Is there any reason why it would make any sense to stay with EJ?

A little info to help out I hope.

---My wife and I are both 42

---our invested assets are in the low seven figure range. ( it would be much higher had I figured out 12 years ago what I am learning now!)

---our tax bracket is 28%

bluejello

Re: Dazed, Confused and Upset

Post by bluejello » Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:32 pm

Nope! Congrats on taking the red pill. :sharebeer

ogd

Post by ogd » Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:34 pm

imdone42 wrote:Is there any reason why it would make any sense to stay with EJ?
No. Edward Jones is pretty terrible, perhaps one of the worst places to invest this side of Madoff. Those investments were specifically chosen to maximize the profits of your advisor and EJ and in the long term they'd take away half or two thirds of your returns.

There's no reason not to tell your friends, either.

sambb

Post by sambb » Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:35 pm