Next steps? PhD student w/ almost no tax-advantaged space

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
middistancerunner

Next steps? PhD student w/ almost no tax-advantaged space

Post by middistancerunner » Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:31 pm

I recently started investing for retirement (in April 2014) and until now I have focused on filling up my Roth IRA for 2013 and 2014. I just met that goal yesterday! Unfortunately, I am a PhD student, which means I have both a low income and almost no tax advantaged space. While in 2013/2014 administrative details have meant that I have had earned income and thus can at least contribute to a Roth, in 2015 I may have under $1000 in earned income that qualifies for a Roth. I'm currently saving almost half of my income, so I'm not sure what to do with the remaining savings beyond sticking them in a high-yield savings account. So I'm considering opening a taxable brokerage account and am seeking advice on that, or any other ideas given my situation.

Overview

Emergency funds: 6 months
Debt: Absolutely none
Tax filing status: Single
Marginal tax rate (federal): 15%. Note that I only pay federal income tax, not social security or medicare.
Marginal tax rate (state): 5.25%
State of residence: MA
Desired Asset Allocation: 80% stocks, 20% bonds
Desired International Allocation: 20-30%

Current Retirement Assets

Roth IRA at Vanguard
100% Vanguard LifeStrategy Growth Fund Investor Shares (VASGX, ER=.17%)

Defined-benefit pension plan from prior employer (pre-tax), with cash value