Fund selection in 401k and IRA

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
nanobots

Fund selection in 401k and IRA

Post by nanobots » Tue Sep 02, 2014 10:16 pm

Hello!

I've been reading Bogleheads, Reddit, MMM, business on Flipboard, and other places for a few months now. The plane has been on autopilot with a Target Date fund for a few years but now I'm ready and willing to be hands on. I am a detailed person and feel I can stomach most risk. I am a software engineer and so expect good job prospects for the foreseeable future. My aim is to primarily get advice on fund selection in 401k, IRA, taxable, and maybe asset allocation. (Which I'm sure you all will comment on anyway. :) )

Emergency funds: Twelve months+ though I have been using my taxable accounts for this purpose.
Debt: Mortgage at 3.375%, automobile loan for 3.5 more years at 0%.
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: barely 28% Federal, 4.9% State
State of Residence: KS
Desired Asset allocation: 90% stocks / 10% bonds
Desired International allocation: 30% of stocks

My total portfolio is low six figures.

Current retirement assets

Taxable
12.4% Steadfast Income REITs (???)
12.1% American Funds Fundamental Investors (ANCFX) (0.63%)
4.5% American Funds Money Market (AFAXX) (0.39%) Will soon be withdrawn and spent.

Roth 401k
Company match? $0.75 on the dollar up to 10%.
70.3% T Rowe Price 2045 Trust Fund T1J (0.57%) Used to be TRRKX until sometime last year.
0.4% Vanguard Institutional Index I (VINIX) (0.04%)
0.1% Vanguard Mid Cap Index I (VMCIX) (0.08%)
0.1% Vanguard Small Cap Index I (VSCIX) (0.08%)

IRA
None yet. I plan to open one next year and contribute for 2013 and 2014. Quite possibly with Vanguard. (I think I've drank the koolaid!)

Contributions

New annual Contributions
$17,500 401k + employer $10,300
$5,500 IRA/Roth IRA