27 yo AA Assistance

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
UMHockeyFan

27 yo AA Assistance

Post by UMHockeyFan » Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:25 pm

Hello Bogleheads! Thank you all so much for contributing to this online community. I have been working now for about 4 years and got married to a doctor (intern/first year resident) this past May. For the past four years, I’ve been simply putting money into my 401K as my retirement savings without really looking into the details of the funds themselves. My grandfather gave me Common Sense on Mutual Funds for Christmas, and my eyes have been opened! I have followed that up with Bogle’s Little Book and started reading the Bogleheads’ Guide. Here is our current situation:

Emergency Funds:
4 months expenses in credit union savings acct earning 0.95%

Debt:
30 year home mortgage @ 5% (Purchased in June ’07 w/ 10% down payment)
5 year car loan @ 5.3% (Almost done with year 2)
Medical school debt (in deferment) @ 3.375% (Rate drops to 2.375% after paying first 6 months without late payment)

Tax Info: Married filing jointly, 25% Fed tax rate, 7.75% NC State tax rate

Taxable:
4% Janus Fund (JANSX, 0.91%)
2% DTE Energy Stock (DTE)
1% Occidental Petroleum Stock (OXY)

Non-Taxable:
My 401K (50% employer match up to 6%, currently contributing 9%):
35% Fidelity Spartan US Equity Index (FUSEX, 0.10%)
18% Fidelity Magellan (FMAGX, 0.54%)
18% Morgan Stanley Institutional Fund Trust (MPVAX, 0.87%)
9% Fidelity International Discovery Fund (FIGRX, 1.04%)
9% PIMCO Total Return Fund (PTRAX, 0.68%)

Her Roth IRA:
5% Fidelity Dividend Growth (FDGFX, 0.61%)

Other funds available in My 401K:
Fidelity Capital Appreciation (FDCAX, 0.83%)
Oppenheimer Developing Markets (ODMAX, 1.32%)
Fidelity Real Estate Investment Portfolio (FRESX, 0.83%)
Fidelity Balanced Fund (FBALX, 0.61%)
Fidelity Low Priced Stock Fund (FLPSX, 0.97%)
Robertson Stephens Partners Fund (RSPFX, 1.50%)