Dividends Taxed Differently ?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
larryinnewyork

Dividends Taxed Differently ?

Post by larryinnewyork » Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:16 pm

Good afternoon all,

I have been a long time viewer, and really like the good advise offered here.
Thank you everyone as I have learned alot just viewing.
But now I have a question.
I don't think it's difficult to answer, I just haven't been able to figure this out.

I have been investing for 25+ years and never thought of this before.

Facts:
I own Vanguards Wellington Fund in a Taxable Account.
I would like to receive the quarterly dividends for living expenses.
Fund Value: $237,000.
Cost Basis: +$55,000. $1,000 short term / $54,000 long term
(previously, all Dividends have been reinvested).

Question:
Would it be more tax efficient to:
A) 'auto' transfer the dividends to my Money Market Account at the time the Dividends are issued ? ? ?
OR
B) Wait until the Dividends are issued and move the money myself ? ? ?

Confusion:
If I choose B), would 'Cost Basis' have to be considered ? ? ?
I know I will pay taxes on the dividends, I always have.
But would the Cost Basis create more taxes ? ? ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I thank you in advance.

Larry
Last edited by larryinnewyork on Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

technovelist

Re: Dividends Taxed Differently ?

Post by technovelist » Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:47 pm

The taxes would be the same either way, given that they are from a taxable account.
In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, they often differ.

jebmke

Post by jebmke » Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:53 pm

Are you currently having the dividends reinvested in new shares?
When you discover that you are riding a dead horse, the best strategy is to dismount.

pjstack

Post by pjstack » Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:57 pm