Need advice on employer stock purchase plan

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
clivebixby

Need advice on employer stock purchase plan

Post by clivebixby » Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:57 am

Hi All,

I'm new to the bogleheads investing philosophy and could really use some help regarding my employers stock purchase plan.
I'm 33 years old and currently make $115,000/yr.

In addition to the 15% I'm contributing to a 401k Roth with 3% employer match, I contribute 14% into an employer sponsored stock purchase plan. With the plan, I buy the stock at a 10% discount and am able to sell it each quarter. Since I typically sell the stock as soon as I get it, I'm taking a pretty big hit at the end of the year on short term capital gains so I'm starting to rethink this strategy. I'm just not sure if it's worth making the 10% on the stock sell since I'm paying short term cap gains on the earnings and I really don't want to hold the stock for more than a year because I like being able to immediately use the funds to invest in other areas.

What would be the recommendation here? Should I stop contributing to the ESPP plan and instead move the 14% from my paycheck directly into my brokerage account?

cwied

Re: Need advice on employer stock purchase plan

Post by cwied » Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:03 pm

The 10% is free money. Why would you turn it down just because you have to pay taxes on it?

Your financial goal should be to make as much money as possible, not to pay as few taxes as possible. Let's say you're paying 40% taxes on this extra money. If you're getting a $1610 profit each year from the 10%, you'll be left with $966 after taxes. If instead you skip this program and invest the 14%, how much would you net, and at what risk? I can guarantee that your expected return would be less than the $966 at a much greater risk if you invest it in the stock market instead.