Robbing the emergency fund to start a Roth...?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
cathryn8

Robbing the emergency fund to start a Roth...?

Post by cathryn8 »

Hey, everyone. Hope I'm doing this right. My husband and I are young (26 & 29) and just starting to figure out this investing business. Long story short: I'm a SAHM & he has been a federal employee for about 2 1/2 years; we just bought a house this summer, so now we're ready to stop stockpiling for a house down payment & start getting serious about investing our "extra" each month. We are complete noobies to investing and we're working hard to learn fast (we've got holds placed for Boglehead's Guide to Investing & Common Sense about Mutual Funds at the library, haha).

Since buying the house, we've just been increasing our contributions to his TSP (401k) account, but we're realizing that we need to work toward maxing out on Roths too (we can each do one even though I don't work, right?). He has a 5% employer match to his TSP; since buying our house, we've been contributing 15%-20% to the TSP. We're quickly wising up and have decided we want to start up a couple of Roths QUICK to get them in under the 2013 wire.

Here's our (tentative) long-term plan. Does this look right? (The percentages are supposed to be based on net income, not gross, right? Told you we were noobies...)
- 5% to TSP (401k), which is the employer match max
- 10% to Roths (at our current net, this is only about $5000 annually)
- up to another 3%ish for savings for the boys, short-term savings (for a minivan! Those are expensive!), etc.