Executive Counseling Services

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
boglebob321

Executive Counseling Services

Post by boglebob321 » Wed Dec 04, 2013 1:05 pm

Noob Here... I recently discovered this amazing website about 3 months ago after getting some conflicting information from an “expert” and wanting to do some research on my own. Recently, I have read “The Boglehead’s Guide….” and utilized “Common Sense on Mutual Funds” as a reference. Previously, Scott Burns has kept me on the correct path to investing for the last 25 years with his columns discussing Couch Potato investing.

I haven’t found anything about this on the website, so I thought I would bring it up. My wife recently became a VP for a Fortune 100 company. As a part of the “package”, her Company requested that our income taxes be completed by 1 of 2 companies that provides executive counseling services. The Company will pay for the tax preparation services (the services are treated as income). However, for an additional annual fee of $3500, a full package of financial planning services is offered. Some services we have already used include: retirement planning, review of insurance policies, creating a trust, and creation of a doomsday book.