Bond Funds vs. Purchasing Individual Bonds

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
JBB

Bond Funds vs. Purchasing Individual Bonds

Post by JBB »

I have had a sizable amount of money (seven figures) split between the Vanguard Intermediate-Term Tax-Exempt and the Vanguard Short-Term Tax-Exempt funds for a number of years. They have done well, and I am happy with Vanguard.

I am a California resident. I have a portion of my investible assets in bonds for all the standard reasons, including and especially having a stable pool of money to draw upon if I need to when stocks are down.

Obviously the thought of interest rates going up and their effect on my bond allocation has come to mind.

I have recently been approached by a bank that manages "custom bond allocations" for high net worth investors. They have advocated my switching from the fund approach to individual issuances.

Their motivation to garner fees is clear. They have also argued that when and if interest rates go up, the bond funds such as my Vanguard ones will take a bigger short- and medium-term hit to value than individual issuances because of the effect of large numbers of people selling their fund positions.

I'd like to hear from people more savvy than I am in attempting to decipher whether this makes good sense (on the surface, it seems to), or...

Thank you.
gerrym51

Re: Bond Funds vs. Purchasing Individual Bonds

Post by gerrym51 »

i can't speak for the fee's you will be charged. however the bond and it's interest won't change unless you sell it in secondary market. this is totally your choice as opposed by a fund that has to sell and buy when investors want money back or want to buy in.

the risk you take is default. but assuming it is a quality bond holding until term wiil guarantee it-unless it is callable-i think i covered everything
ogd

Post by ogd »