Portfolio Help - bond fund advice needed

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
investnoob13

Portfolio Help - bond fund advice needed

Post by investnoob13 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:36 pm

I am new to Bogleheads family!

Thanks for all valuable investing ideas and information in this forum. I found this forum in late of November last year. I have been studying Bogleheads Buy-and-Hold philosophy. I have sold all my individual stocks on December 31, 2012. I am in a process of aggressively building my portfolio.

Emergency funds: $20K in TIAA-CREF High Saving account
Debt: Mortgage: Paid off one property. One investment property: $250K at 4%. Auto loan: 17K at 0.9%. No other CC or student loans.
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: 25% Federal, 9.5% State
State of Residence: Bay Area, California
Desired Asset allocation: 60% stocks / 40% bonds
Desired International allocation: 50% of stocks

Current retirement assets

Taxable:
$60,000 cash (sitting in bank and doing nothing)
$10,000 in iBond (newly contributed)
$30,000 Vanguard Total Stock Admiral Shares (VTSAX / 0.05%)
$23,000 Vanguard Total International Admiral Shares (VTIAX / 0.16%)
$10,000 Vanguard Emerging Market Admiral Shares (VEMAX / 0.18%)
$10,800 Vanguard REIT Index Admiral Shares (VGSLX / 0.10%)
$5000 Vanguard California Long-Term Tax-Exempt (VCITX / 0.20%)

His Roth IRA at Vanguard
9.6% / $10,500 Vanguard Total Bond Admiral Shares (VBTLX / 0.10%) (Newly contributed)

Total: $160K. I don’t have 401K.

Questions:
1. I want to contribute more into bonds. However, I don’t have much tax-advantage space. What’s the best way to invest bonds in Taxable account? From my reading, it’s California Tax-Exempt funds?