When do you make your 2013 backdoor roth contribution?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
berg

When do you make your 2013 backdoor roth contribution?

Post by berg » Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:08 pm

I'm new to the backdoor roth. I just made my wife's and my 2012 traditional IRA contributions at Vanguard and will convert these to a Roth in the next few days.

My question is when do you usually make your contributions for the backdoor? Since it seems like the way to go is a lump sum move, instead of monthly dollar cost averaging, do you usually do it early in the year or late in the year?

I guess since I just made a $10k investment, it might make sense to wait a bit for 2013 to try to dollar cost average a bit. Interested what everyone else does. Thanks!

harikaried

Re: When do you make your 2013 backdoor roth contribution?

Post by harikaried » Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:22 pm

Are you sure you'll need to backdoor into a Roth through a Traditional for 2013? What fraction would the 2013 Roth contributions be compared to overall investments across 401k, brokerage, existing Roth, (no Traditional), etc?

You could save yourself some work by just contributing for both 2012 and 2013 and converting both in one go. But at least from my experience at Vanguard and Fidelity, these conversions are as simple as a sell to buy order.

Personally, I put in my 2013 contribution about a month ago and for my wife a couple weeks ago. We waited because we needed to do some recharacterizations before filing 2012 taxes, and I didn't want Fidelity to mess things up with this extra contribution to consider.

Bacchus01

Post by Bacchus01 » Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:33 pm

I do it all on Jan 1st (or as soon as possible) and generallly do the funding and the conversion at the same time (although it takes 48 hours to hit everything).

Bharat

Post by Bharat » Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:54 pm