Why should young people invest in bonds at all?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
econ11

Why should young people invest in bonds at all?

Post by econ11 » Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:18 pm

I am 26 and have just started thinking about investing for the future. I'm a grad student in econ, and was aware (though finance is not my area of expertise), that indexing beats active management once costs are taken into account. Thus, I was attracted to Vanguard and the Boglehead forum.

My question is this: why should someone my age invest in bonds at all?

Some allocation rules of thumb, such as 100-age toward stocks would have me investing 26 percent of my portfolio in bonds. But, I have been doing some research and there has apparently never been a 30 year period (since we've started measuring such things) that bonds have outperformed stocks.

I plan on working until I am at least 65, so any amount I invest before I turn 35 will have at least 30 years to grow before I would need it. What am I missing? Thanks in advance!

tainted-meat

Re: Why should young people invest in bonds at all?

Post by tainted-meat » Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:56 pm

I think it has to do with risk tolerance and not panicking when the market does down by selling and pulling out of the market.

I'm 26 as well and don't own any bonds. Probably won't for 15 years or so.

gnosis

Post by gnosis » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:12 am

Welcome! Here's a helpful link: http://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=538014

I noticed that the person who started that thread was also 26 years old. What is it with you guys at 26 and bonds questions? :happy
econ11 wrote:... there has apparently never been a 30 year period (since we've started measuring such things) that bonds have outperformed stocks...
Never say never. "Past performance is no guarantee of future results". There's one reason to hold some bonds.