Dive into bonds?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
humanshield

Dive into bonds?

Post by humanshield » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:51 pm

Hello

I stumbled upon this forum and hope to get some advice as you guys seem to have a similar philosophy in investing as I do.

Let me first display my current situation. I am a software engineer working for a successful tech company. I currently rent and have very little debt. I have no short/medium term goals really, except maybe considering buying a condo/house. Obviously long term goal is a comfortable retirement.

Emergency funds: Yes
Debt: Student loans in the mid 4 digit range (1.625% interest)
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: 25% Federal, 5.30% State
State of Residence:MA
Desired Asset allocation: 80-90% stocks / 10-20% bonds ( This is a little vague since this is the crux of my question)
Desired International allocation: 30% of stocks

Total Portfolio is in the low 6 digits
Current Asset Allocations breakdown
Large Cap: 34.3%
Mid Cap: 18.2%
Small Cap: 15.8%
International: 19.8%
Cash: 11.9%

Current retirement assets

Taxable
11.4% cash
5.4% in company ESPP/RSU (would rather not disclose company)

7.0% in Vanguard 500 Index Fund Admiral Shares (VFIAX) (0.05%)
4.8% in Vanguard Extended Market Index Fund Admiral Shares (VEXAX) (0.14%)
2.5% in Vanguard Mid-Cap Index Fund Investor Shares (VIMSX) (0.24%)
3.2% in Vanguard International Value Fund (VTRIX) (0.41%)
3.5% in Vanguard International Growth Fund Investor Shares (VWIGX) (0.49%)

9.2% Fidelity Spartan 500 Index Fund Institutional Class (FXSIX) (0.05%)
6.4% Fidelity Spartan International Index Fund Fidelity Advantage Class (FSIVX) (0.17%)
3.3% Fidelity Spartan Extended Market Index Fund Fidelity Advantage Class (FSEVX) (0.07%)
3.1% Vanguard Small-Cap Index Fund Signal Shares (VSISX) (0.10%)
Company match? Yes, like 2% or 4% (I forget exactly)

Roth IRA