Tax loss harvesting details

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
jdilla1107

Tax loss harvesting details

Post by jdilla1107 »

I am new to the idea of tax loss harvesting, but I love the idea and want to take some losses in 2013. I have some VTI in taxable that is down about 3%. In absolute dollars, this loss is about $6,000. In general, my goal is to never sell until retirement.

Let's say, I sell the VTI and buy SPY. Now, let's say after 30 days the market goes up 5%. Now I have gain in SPY and am somewhat "stuck" holding SPY even though I don't really want to own SPY. I will have to hold SPY until the market goes down again or possibly for many years. This seems less than ideal. Am I missing something?

For people that TLH, do you end up with a collection of "second choice" funds?

Thanks.
jebmke

Re: Tax loss harvesting details

Post by jebmke »

no, you are correct, you want to make sure you harvest to a holding that you are comfortable holding, possibly "forever". There are many excellent funds that are "close enough." If swapping within VG, I moved from TSM to a 75/25 holding of 500 and extended market in 2008. Then in 2009 I moved back to TSM when the market moved down further. However, had it not moved down further, I was perfectly content to hold the 500/Extended market fund for the long haul.

Is there some reason you don't want to book the loss in 2012?
Don't trust me, look it up. https://www.irs.gov/forms-instructions-and-publications
sscritic

Post by sscritic »

Who knows what second choice means. I used to have 500 Index and Extended Market. I sold both at losses. I bought Large Cap, so I didn't have any smaller cap. So I bought TSM. The combination of Large Cap and TSM means I am "over weighted" in larger stocks. I don't care; it's good enough for me. Certainly not second choice; maybe one point oneth choice.
livesoft

Post by livesoft »