Starting from nothing

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
uncertainty

Starting from nothing

Post by uncertainty » Sun Dec 16, 2012 3:42 pm

Hey everyone, this is my first attempt at actually planning for retirement. I graduated a few years ago with roughly $55,000 in student loans and got a job shortly after. I sold my car, bought a bicycle, moved into an apartment with a couple roommates and have been working to reduce my debt since. I'm roughly halfway done and, having avoided my employers 401k match up til now, decided it was probably time to stop leaving money on the table. I have no real assets and no consumer debt and I don't plan on buying a home or vehicle anytime soon, so my expenses will remain low for the foreseeable future. I've been independent since 18 and have stable employment. My parents are my emergency fund at this point, though I have yet to ask or receive any money from them since graduation.

Emergency funds: One week
Debt: $18,000 5.74% private student loans
$12,000 ~4.5% federal student loans
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: 15% Federal, 8.5% State (ME)
Desired Asset allocation: 80% stocks / 20% bonds
Desired International allocation: 30% of stocks
Current portfolio: Zero

Current Income: $32,000
New annual contributions: 5% of income (100% company match up to 5%)
I also plan to save $2,000 to $3,000 for an emergency fund and will continue paying down debt aggressively afterwards.