Reasonable Growth Rate for IRA Investments

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
BHrookie

Reasonable Growth Rate for IRA Investments

Post by BHrookie »

Hello

I am a newbie to the BH group, so please bear with my initial few posts.

I am 37 and planning to use my traditional IRA (~six figures) for a ETF-based portfolio with one of the newer online portfolio management sites. I will leave the discussion about why I am using one of these sites for another post.

During the initial sign up process, the site is asking me a question like "How much would you like your portfolio to be worth when you start needing the money"

So, if I my starting investment is ~100K, what is a resonable return to expect if I want the start withdrawing at age 65?

BHR
hoppy08520

Re: Reasonable Growth Rate for IRA Investments

Post by hoppy08520 »

Risk and return go hand and hand. See Risk and return: an introduction. If you have a portfolio of 90% stocks and 10% bonds, versus a portfolio of 40% stocks and 60% bonds, the first is but will probably (given historical patterns) achieve a higher return in the long run (over your 23-year time frame). A more balanced 60/40 portfolio may come close to riskier portfolio but with less volatility.

See Historical and Expected Returns for some estimates on what kinds of returns you can expect from different asset classes. If you were to assemble a coherent portfolio around these asset classes, then you could use these estimates (weighted based on the proportion you hold each asset class) to come up with an estimated return.