Receiving 250-300k And Torn On How To Grow It

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
jamm1227

Receiving 250-300k And Torn On How To Grow It

Post by jamm1227 »

To make a long story short, I am a teenager whose father is receiving 250-300k from an injury lawsuit. My parents are seriously contemplating only spending about 15k for a car and redecoration of our apartment and leaving the rest of the money to ME to manage. They know I took a recent interest in business, investing, and economics and therefore trust me, even know I'm very new to the world of business and have more questions than answers. I'm contemplating if I should buy my father a business to manage, buy rental property, invest in real estate, invest in mutual funds, be the lender of a real estate trust deed, or possibly invest in equity in growing businesses. I'm torn and frankly I don't trust myself, though I trust myself more than my parents :wink: I'm wondering if I can have any advice on this matter and perhaps an idea of what would you do with this money if the intent is generating income from investments?

I'm thinking the safest option is to buy my father a business because in this economy (US), jobs are scarce and job security is shaky. It's always stressful working for someone else, let alone receiving a tiny portion of the boss's salary. My father's background is in sale's management and I'm thinking he would be fit to manage and own a business with an already built-in success model. That's the great thing about buying a business, assuming the original owner is quitting for relocation or retirement - there is an existing successful business model with an established reputation and consumer base.