Is AAA a good deal?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills

Is AAA a good deal?

Postby tc101 » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:13 am

I'm 60 and have a bad back and a bad shoulder. Yesterday I had a cold and was driving in the rain and I thought about how hard it would be for me to change a tire if I had a flat. I thought about joining AAA. Is it a good deal, or are there better options?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
tc101

Postby GammaPoint » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:30 am

Here's a thread from awhile back where this was discussed quite a bit (not to derail any further convo here of course).

I've never had AAA so the above is as helpful as I can get :)
GammaPoint

Postby CABob » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am

I've been a auto club member for a lot of years. I doubt that I have gotten my moneys worth over that time, but, I keep renewing my membership because of "what if". Primarily it is so my wife (and daughters in the past) can have the service if needed, but, like you I no longer change tires unless I really have to.
Check with your auto insurance. It may have roadside assistance coverage or can add it for less than AAA membership.
Remember that there are other services that they provide such as maps, books, travel arrangements, DMV transactions, etc.

I just checked the prior conversation that Gamma Point listed above and see that I responded to it also and said about the same thing. At least I'm consistent.
Bob | An investment in knowledge pays the best interest. -- Benjamin Franklin
CABob

Postby Opponent Process » Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 am

yes I'm always getting flats and locking my keys in my truck. I also use the AAA discount at hotels.
30/30/20/20 | US/International/Bonds/TIPS | Average Age=37
Opponent Process

Postby norookie » Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:16 am