After tax 401K contributions

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

After tax 401K contributions

Postby boglesmymind » Fri Jan 15, 2010 6:46 pm

I am leaving my job and will be rolling my 401K into a new IRA with Vanguard. My 401K is with Fidelity and since I have been contributing to my employers savings plan for more than 30 yrs, there is a large amount of after tax "source contributions" in it. When 401K's came about I began contributing pre tax money. Fidelity has always kept track of where the contributions were coming from. For instance, after tax, pre tax, company match, dividends,etc.

A Vanguard spokeperson told me that these contributions would just all be lumped together, and they don't keep track of what came from where. Another firm sugested that I pull out the after tax contributions and put them in a taxable acount. I don't need this money for another 10 yrs, and don't want to deal with a large taxable account at this time. I'd like it to grow in a tax sheltered IRA.

I don't want to pay taxes on the after tax contributions twice, when I start drawing from the IRA in the future, so what should I do?
boglesmymind

Postby dbr » Fri Jan 15, 2010 6:49 pm

I believe this is a point in time when you can file an IRS Form 8606 which declares the tax status of your IRA components. That would mean you, in effect, declaring everything as it was in the records of the 401K custodian at time of transfer. The IRA custodian will no longer track all that.

Others more exactly knowledgeable of the drill might help me out here.
dbr

Postby livesoft » Fri Jan 15, 2010 6:50 pm

Are not after-tax contributions documented by your filing of Form 8606 each year. Or by the form 5498 each year? Do you actually need the vendor to keep track of these for you or are your records sufficient for the IRS when you begin withdrawals?
livesoft

Postby Sidney » Fri Jan 15, 2010 6:55 pm