Portfolio Help - Edward Jones v. Vanguard

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Portfolio Help - Edward Jones v. Vanguard

Postby bondebj26 » Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:58 pm

I am a 28 year old CPA (married to a 32 yo w/ 2 kids <2 yo), who got into a mess of hiring a friend as a financial advisor - an Ed Jones rep. He keeps giving me the building a foundation spiel, but I think many of the funds I am in are overlapping, and probably have a higher bond weighting than I would prefer at this point.

But, I have a 401k with Vanguard and I have been pleased with it, and last May I stopped Roth contributions to Ed Jones because I was fed up with load funds that seem to have lagged the market. The main thing that ticked me off was putting a 401k rollover (from Vanguard) in the Franklin Templeton Founding Fund Allocation, which promptly went from $4850 in March 07 to $2725 in Dec 08. I try to max Roth contributions each year, but for 2009 I am putting about $3500 to a VG deductible IRA instead of Roth IRA, and look into converting in 2010.

Wife has an account with Merrill Lynch, all C shares. Her family uses that rep, but the expense ratios kill me.

Updated below based upon all of your feedback. Look forward to more discussion now that I've got through newbie status.

Emergency funds = 0 from my income (what I prefer to do). Currently use wife's S-Corp dividend accumulation in taxable account as EFund (approx. $1k/mo) - about 4 months worth of net paychecks. Ideally we would never have to touch these funds, and would primarily be used for home down payment, education, etc. in the future

Debt: 190K mortgage - 4.875%
Credit cards paid in full every month (some months more damage than others), although currently have $3,200 in 0% BT used to cover expenses while on 1 month furlough from work

Tax Filing Status: MFJ, 2 children (2 and 5 mo)