Have $150K in cash. Good passive income ideas...??

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills

Have $150K in cash. Good passive income ideas...??

Postby tuttibs » Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:27 pm

Hi guys, I'm a noob.

Just finished medical training. Got a great sign on bonus and live in small size city with decent cost of living. I DO NOT want to work for the rest of my life. I think I will burn out soon and need to start investing in passive income streams now so I can retire in 10-15 years. Medicine is going down the tubes and I won't be making this money for much longer.

What are your guys ideas for good passive income streams that does not require me to quit my current job.

I was thinking about franchising (have family members that will manage store for me)
What about rental properties?

I have $150K right now and will have $300K total in a year.

Have about $120K in student loans, but currently at 3% interest. Should I pay that off first and forget about anything else? We also don't even have a house yet, just renting (about $1500 a month).

Should I stop dreaming and just buy a house, pay off my loans and invest the rest in the bank, stocks?

Thanks for the advice!
tuttibs

Re: Have $150K in cash. Good passive income ideas...??

Postby chaz » Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:53 pm

Read the wiki. Pay off debt. Invest in Total Stock Market fund.

Good luck.
Chaz | | “Money is better than poverty, if only for financial reasons." Woody Allen | | http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
chaz

Postby redlbj01 » Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:23 pm

I can certainly understand your concerns about burning out, but to be honest if your fresh out of medical training, the road has just started for you. Many people would kill for the type of income you are earning fresh out of school.