Accidentally forgot a credit card for three months HELP!

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
chocolate123

Accidentally forgot a credit card for three months HELP!

Post by chocolate123 »

Hello All,

I have a very embarrassing question. I pay my credit card balance off each month and have never run a balance in the ten or so years that I have had a credit card.

This summer, I made a $70 payment with a credit card that I rarely use and don't have email reminders about. I did it late at night, and honestly forgot that I had done so for nearly three months (three payment cycles). I was out of the country at the time. Upon my return (and poring through all of the hard copy letters of various things that I had missed), I realized that this had caused
my card to go into default
my credit card company to cancel my "premium" card and downgrade me to a "standard" card
my credit score to fall by approximately 140 points (780 or 790 down to 640).

I immediately paid off the card at this point, but the damage was already done. Now I'm worried that it will take years to recover from such a silly mistake. :oops:

As someone with well over six figures a brokerage account (in addition to several thousand sitting in a checking account at the time of the above incident), this is extremely embarrassing. In other words, I had the money, and would have paid the card off no problem. I simply forgot. Now my credit score is in the dumps, but I don't feel like this reflects me as a borrower at all (and doesn't really say anything about me, as missing a $70 payment for three consecutive months is much different than missing a payment of $15,000 for three months).

Now my FICO report says:
Affected by the Key Factor(s) below:
1. Serious Delinquency
2. Time since Delinquency is too recent or unknown

Is there anything I can do?

Help!! :( :( :(
mhc