Thoughts on getting out [of job]

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
jojay

Thoughts on getting out [of job]

Post by jojay »

[This post from 2014 has been updated by the OP below in this post- moderator prudent]

All,
I'd appreciate hearing from you on the following. I am unsure if I'm looking for you to reinforce my plan of shoot holes in it. Both are welcome.

At 59, I absolutely hate my job. I am fraught with anxiety and dread ( most of this is in my own mind but psychological counseling has had only minimal benefit). I am not sleeping, am agitated, worry incessantly and want to go. Like a lot of you, I have been working hard for 40 years and have done well by managing my finances in the boggle head style. I no longer want the responsibility of management or leadership and cannot deal with the politics.

In my mind, my 55 year old wife and I have enough in the 401k. By every estimation possible, we have enough to retire comfortably with a likelihood of never running out of money and still leaving inheritances to the kids. She would continue to work at a low paying ( semi-retirement ), part time position in order for us to have health benefits.

I have about $60k in tuition demands over the next 2 years for my 22 and 19 year old children. My 24 year old is out of school but still lives at home. We have about 150k remaining on the mortgage with a conservative home value of 400k.