Creating a 401k for my company through Employee Fiduciary

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
jdasch9

Creating a 401k for my company through Employee Fiduciary

Post by jdasch9 »

Hi Bogleheads,

I am looking for some advice on what funds to offer my employees as I create the menu with Employee Fiduciary. I am just beginning the process, so I'm not completely clear on the course of action, but I believe I am able to select any combination of funds, up to 30. I definitely do not want 30, but want to make sure my menu is reasonably thorough so as to fulfill my obligations as the fiduciary/plan sponsor. For this exercise I'm using investor shares as I'm not sure if we will have access to signal/admiral shares. Our plan is very small, so definitely no institutional shares.

Here is my list so far:

Vanguard Total Stock Market (VTSMX)
Vanguard Total International Stock Index Fund (VGTSX)
Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund (VBMFX)
Vanguard Total International Bond Market Index Fund (VTIBX)
Vanguard Prime Money Market Fund (VMMXX)
Vanguard Target Retirement Funds

It is bare, but obviously good enough to do the job. My question is whether or not to include others such as REIT, TIPS, small/medium/large cap, or any others (Vanguard or not) you may find worthwhile. My reasoning for NOT including these is to keep the plan simple, but please advise if you believe these options are worthwhile to include.