Medicare Plan D [Tale of Woe]

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
lucky3

Medicare Plan D [Tale of Woe]

Post by lucky3 »

This is my first year under original Medicare with an AARP Plan F Supplement, Part D will Silver Script. All was going well unti Iwnet to refill a 90 day supply of medicine which last time cost me $60...this time $241.....yes, I entered the dounut hole....over the $2800 allowance before the year ended. Anyway to avoid this dounut hole by getting another plan? I have the option to switching. I'm ok with the Medicare and AARP Plan F but the PartD will drive me nuts since I take several maintenance drugs. Any options?

Lucky3
technovelist

Re: Medicare Plan D Tail Of Whoa!

Post by technovelist »

Have you checked prices at Costco or another relatively inexpensive pharmacy?
In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, they often differ.
cheese_breath

Post by cheese_breath »

My wife also goes into the donut hole about this time every year. Her last two refills were donut hole refills. Basically, we just plan for it and tough it out. Although I do try to get her more expensive meds refilled on the first day the refill is allowed and spread out the cheaper ones in the hope that maybe we will be able to sneak one more expensive on in while she is still one the stage 1 copay. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't
The surest way to know the future is when it becomes the past.
dolphinsaremammals

Post by dolphinsaremammals »

I hit the donut hole and then catastrophic coverage every year. The donut hole $ is somewhat mitigated by paying almost nothing for most prescriptions I have once I'm in catastrophic coverage.