Easy careers to last me to retirement?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
Gambler

Easy careers to last me to retirement?

Post by Gambler »

single, 43, no kids

401k/Roth= $400k
after tax $ = 100k
expenses = $30k/yr ($2500/month)

I did IT. I also did project mgmt.
got laid off as a proj mgr and didn't want to go back to that field. don't want to go back to IT either.
unemployment ran out.

I currently work in construction as a grunt ($20/hr). don't want to do that anymore.

I just want to be able to cover my monthly expenses, or something close to it.
(I assume that I can live off my 401k/roth when I turn 60, and social security when I'm 67.)

Suggest some careers for me to try.
THX
"Always be thankful for what you have no matter how much or how little" -EternalOptimist
steve_14

Re: Easy careers to last me to retirement?

Post by steve_14 »

You seem to know what you don't like. What do you like?
maroon

Post by maroon »

Gambling?

You'll probably need to tell us more before we can provide good suggestions. For example, do you prefer indoor/desk jobs or outdoor work?
Last edited by maroon on Sun Jul 06, 2014 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dgdevil

Post by dgdevil »

An Uber or Lyft driver? A dog walker? Clinical trials? Geek Squad?
Gecko10x

Post by Gecko10x »

Have any skills or hobbies?
KlangFool

Post by KlangFool »

Gambler wrote:
got laid off as a proj mgr and didn't want to go back to that field. don't want to go back to IT either.
Gambler,

Project Management is one of the easiest job if you pick the right industry and right company. Most of our project managers work from home and organize conference call. They update action item spreadsheet and so on... They are responsible and accountable for nothing.

Frankly speaking, I cannot think of any easiest job than project management.

KlangFool