I'm a small business owner, this is what Paychex offered

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
fusQuanto

I'm a small business owner, this is what Paychex offered

Post by fusQuanto »

Hi all--

I'm a small business owner, 33 years old. The business is a law firm, I have one partner, and 4 additional employees (all paralegals/1 receptionist). 6 total employees. We have been in business 3 years and I'd like to offer 401(k) to my employees, and to myself/partner as well. I'm planning on offering a 3% ER match, and then 50% ER match up to 6%.

Paychex is our payroll processor and I greatly value the quickbooks ledger file they send each payroll, for the ease of bookkeeping tasks. I prefer Paychex to administer the 401(k) for this sole reason. This is what they offered:

$1500 one time enrollment fee
$150/mo fee
$5/employee/mo that uses it

The rep said they have over 8000 funds they offer. I would login to the Paychex site and it is all administered there. Using this forum's knowledge, I asked about the Vanguard index funds and their fees. The rep sent me a pdf file of Vanguard funds that he prepared for another client. The ERs are in the .2-.4 range (seems like a good ER with my limited knowledge).

Is this a good deal? Am I paying too much in the monthly fees for their management? Any and all thoughts are appreciated.
jlawrence01

Re: I'm a small business owner, this is what Paychex offered

Post by jlawrence01 »

My initial thoughts was that the fees seemed bit high.

HOWEVER, it take as much effort to start up a 401(k) for 10 people as for 100. Therefore, it seems pretty reasonable.