Re: Data security (removing old TaxAct files)

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
porcupine

Post by porcupine »

I have been using TaxAct for the last few years (a satisfied customer). My laptop has now become a bit ancient and I need to get it cleaned and overhauled (I am not too good with that sort of a thing, especially with a laptop). WIth that in mind, I need to clean out my TaxAct data that is lying in its hard drive before I give the laptop to someone for a couple of days.

With the caveat that it is not easy to scrub the data (given that there is probably other financial stuff also somewhere - in some scrambled format or the other - on the laptop), what is the quickest way for me to do the minimum I could do so that if someone wants to get at that stuff, it won't be that easy (at least)?

At the very least, I can delete all those files and uninstall the software. But is there one or two more steps I can take short of reformatting the hard drive? I definitely don't want to have to reinstall everything back on it.

Would appreciate any input, especially from those who do use TaxAct, as they will likely be more familiar with the software.

- Porcupine

PS: Mods, if you wish, please move this thread to the Consumer Issues section (I put it here as it might catch the attention of TaxAct users) :-)
sscritic

Post by sscritic »

Google secure delete. The answer will depend on the operating system you are using.
AAA

Post by AAA »

sscritic wrote:Google secure delete. The answer will depend on the operating system you are using.