Physician Malpractice tail insurance-which would you choose?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
xrvision

Physician Malpractice tail insurance-which would you choose?

Post by xrvision »

I am a physician, and I am switching jobs. I need to purchase tail coverage for my malpractice insurance. I live in a state with damage caps of $250K/500K.

I was given multiple options by the insurance company-
$100K/300K coverage for $11.5K cost to me
$200k/600K for $13.5K cost to me
$500k/$1 mil for $17.5K cost me
$1 mil/$3 mil for $22K cost to me

I'm not considering the last two options since there's a damage cap in the state that is below that coverage. I know several other physicians who recently were in my situation and opted for the least expensive policy. Their reasoning was that the vast majority of cases are settled at whatever the max malpractice coverage is (so if I pick $100K policy, they will settle for that, if I pick $200K policy, they will settle for that, etc).

Which would you choose?
Last edited by xrvision on Fri Dec 06, 2013 12:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
am

Re: Physician Malpractice tail insurance-which would you cho

Post by am »

Think those caps are for non econ. damages so awards can definitely be much higher. Would go with highest limits. A small investment to protect assets and prevent wage garnishmnet. Have heard it happen.
manwithnoname

Post by manwithnoname »

xrvision wrote:I am a physician, and I am switching jobs. I need to purchase tail coverage for my malpractice insurance. I live in a state with damage caps of $250K for an individual physician/500K for an institution.